Dr John & The Lower 911 : City That Care Forgot

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

The city’s greatest living ambassador fuses blues, funk and soul on pointed and poignant love letter to post-Hurricane Katrina New Orleans.
On “City That Care Forgot”, Dr. John delivers an elegantly elegiac homage to his drowned hometown that’s at once an incredible collection of songs – possibly his best work of the past two decades – and a bold statement and cultural event. Musically anchored with that legendary gravely drawl and a buoyant riot of swamp-voodoo piano grooves (and aid from a few friends like Eric Clapton) the album’s 13 tracks also provide a lyrical reminder that the rawness and divisions exposed by Hurricane Katrina are as fresh as ever.
Infused with elements of barrelhouse funk and freewheeling proto-rock, at times Dr. John raises as much hell as he does questions. But his hopeful, if harrowing, songwriting never loses the notion that once we start to address our problems we can heal as a nation. The songs, at a time when the word “change” seems to be everybody’s buzzword, are at once a musical return to roots, yet suffused with an unusual urgency.
On the loping, blues-inflected “Time For A Change”, Dr. John conjures what could be considered “What’s Going On” for the YouTube generation, as he manages to provide a rollicking good time while holding forth on such on issues as the war in Iraq and the current administration. In contrast, the stirring title track is simple – and life-affirming – requiem for the victims of Katrina – leading off an album that stands as a sad, searing, sacrilegious, and ultimately auspicious statement that promises to stand as one of the most compelling and enduring musical statements of this complex era.

Available to buy

Bookmark and Share
This entry was posted in Album_Info, Releases. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

    City That Care Forgot

    180g Double LP
    17th November 2008

    1. Time For A Change
    2. Black Gold
    3. You Might Be Surprised
    4. Save Our Wetlands
    5. Mother Earth
    6. Land Grab
    7. Promises Promises
    8. We Gettin' There
    9. Stripped Away
    10. My People Need A Second Line
    11. City That Care Forgot
    12. Say Whut
    13. Dream Warrior
    14. Keep On Goin'