Kris Drever : If Wishes Were Horses

To simply call Kris Drever ‘a folksinger’ would be like saying that LAU, the acclaimed band in which he also sings and plays, is ‘a Scottish folk trio’. Both true descriptions but reductive ones that only hint at the progressive joys contained in the music of each.

Kris Drever launches into 2016 with a brand new studio album If Wishes Were Horses and a supporting tour. With it he celebrates his first decade as an acclaimed solo artist and songwriter. The new album is his first for six years (during which time his band Lau have established themselves as the most widely acclaimed and musically progressive trio in British folk music).

If Wishes Were Horses is a collection of semi-biographical songs covering the universal, and not so universal, themes of education, politics, sex, love, ennui, self-employment, social migration and Shetland. Drever’s recent outpouring of songs stems from a move back to the Northern Isles, Shetland this time rather than his native Orkney and the discovery of new lyrical voices to describe his life, times and wild new surroundings.

Helping Kris to realise this album are the renowned guitar genius Ian Carr, ace bassist Euan Burton and Admiral Fallow frontman Louis Abbott on drums and vocals.

Drever’s voice and guitar now form a part of the backbone of today’s contemporary roots and folk scene. Hugely admired as a solo artist, collaborator, and member of folk superstars Lau, he is a phenomenal and prolific artist. Drever has already played alongside Jack Bruce, Bela Fleck, Tinariwen, Joan As Police Woman, Jerry Douglas, Danny Thompson, Tim O’Brien, Sarah Jarosz, Shawn Colvin, Phil Cunningham, Rosanne Cash, Roddy Woomble, Eddi Reader, Adem, Kate Rusby, Julie Fowlis, Karine Polwart and many more.

Available to buy

Kris Drever : If Wishes Were Horses

Album Information
180g Single LP, Gatefold Sleeve & CD.
3rd May 2016

Loading Updating cart...
Bookmark and Share
This entry was posted in Album_Info, Feature, Releases. Bookmark the permalink. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

    If Wishes Were Horses

    180g Single LP with CD
    3rd May 2016

    1 I Didn’t Try Hard Enough
    2 When We Roll In The Morning
    3 Capernaum
    4 Shipwrecked
    5 If Wishes Were Horses
    6 The Longest Day
    7 When The Shouting Is Over
    8 Don’t Tell Me That (Human Nature)
    9 Hard Year
    10 Five Past Two
    11 Going To The North