Polly Paulusma : Leaves From The Family Tree

From humble musical beginnings in a Clapham garden shed, Polly Paulusma has come a long way.

She now owns her own label, Wild Sound, and on 28 May 2012 releases her third studio album Leaves from the Family Tree, in whose name she has e-collaborated in a dizzying flurry of cyberwaves with folk heroes John Parker of Nizlopi, Adem and Erin McKeown, rock violin diva Anna Phoebe, and the hottest film composer du jour, Michael Price, who’s recently won an EMMY for his Sherlock soundtrack.

Paulusma released her first two albums Scissors in my Pocket (2004) and Fingers & Thumbs (2007) with Bjork’s label One Little Indian to international critical acclaim.

Buoyed by a BBC Radio 2 play-listing, she toured the UK with Jamie Cullum and Gary Jules, in Europe with Bob Dylan and PJ Harvey; and then across the USA with The Divine Comedy, Joseph Arthur and Coldplay; she played Glastonbury, the V Festival, Cambridge Folk Festival, The Fleadh and Glasgow’s T in the Park.

Paulusma now releases her joyous third album, Leaves from the Family Tree, an insightful representation of modern family life. It’s an honest reflection of where she finds herself now with two small children, embedded in a family life she thought she’d escaped, with all the trials and tribulations that brings: birth, death, working motherhood and the beautiful capriciousness of daily existence. Sonically it’s at once soaring and intimate, reflecting the tapestry-like nature of its genesis: midnight recordings from her shed have been seamlessly interwoven with grand performances from the soundstage at Pinewood Studios, but you’d never hear the join.

Bookmark and Share
This entry was posted in Album_Info, Releases. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Leaves From The Family Tree

    180g Single LP
    2nd September 2013

    1. Last Week Me
    2. Blood-Red Coat
    3. Hallelujah
    4. Story Of My Life
    5. Most Of It
    6. Two Houses
    7. Don’t Ask Me
    8. Ocean
    9. Lynch Pin
    10. All Is Well
    11. Wedding Day
    12. Take Me Home
    13. Don’t Ask Me (Radio Edit)