Daniel Lanois : Acadie

Diverse Records presents the classic Daniel Lanois debut LP “Acadie”.
Available on vinyl for the first time since 1989.

Lanois started his production career when he was 17, working in his own studio with his brother Bob Lanois in the basement of their mother’s Ancaster, Ontario home, recording local artists. Within ten years his production talents saw him working with Brian Eno (Ambient 4), and onto classic albums by U2 (The Unforgettable Fire, The Joshua Tree), Peter Gabriel (Birdy, So) and Bob Dylan (Oh Mercy). Inspired by a move from Canada to New Orleans, and sublime recording sessions with the Neville Brothers (Yellow Moon) and Dylan, Daniel’s debut album as a recording artist was released in 1989.

“Acadie” is a stunning blend of styles, fusing Cajun, rhythm and blues, rock and new age ambience, taking influence from many of Lanois’ recent production works. Most noticeably among those are Peter Gabriel’s So and Robbie Robertson, but also the Neville Brothers and U2, members of whom appear in the stellar line up of musicians here.

This deluxe redesigned reissue includes the classic album and seven unreleased gems from the vault. Remastered from the original tapes. A new expanded sleeve design featuring exclusive photographs, artwork, and all of the lyrics along with annotations by Daniel.

Available to buy

Daniel Lanois : Acadie

Album Information
180g Double LP, Gatefold Sleeve.
20th April 2013

Loading Updating cart...
Bookmark and Share
This entry was posted in Album_Info, Releases. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


    180g Double LP, Gatefold Sleeve
    20th April 2013

    1. Still Water
    2. The Maker
    3. O Marie
    4. Jolie Louise
    5. Fisherman’s Daughter
    6. White Mustang II
    7. Under The Stormy Sky
    8. Where The Hawkwind Kills
    9. Silium’s Hill
    10. Ice
    11. St. Anne’s Gold
    12. Amazing Grace
    13. The Maker (early bass and lyrics)
    14. The Maker (Calipso demo)
    15. Still Water (from Eno’s house)
    16. Jolie Louise (before Dublin)
    17. The Source Of Fisherman’s Daughter
    18. Early Dourado Sketch
    19. Little Mustang (Eno Layers)