Laura Marling : Live From York Minster

In April of this year, Virgin released a 2CD version of Laura Marling’s current album ‘A Creature I Don’t Know’. The second CD featured a live performance from York Minster Cathedral which draws together songs from all three albums and is already a formidable ‘greatest hits’ set. This performance wasn’t included with the vinyl release and we thought it was too good not to grace the black stuff. We asked Virgin if we could release it and happily, we were given permission to put this stunning album out as a stand alone release.

Marling is touring her new album ‘A Creature I Don’t Know’, and songs such as The Muse and Sophia bristle with hooks and literary imagery. But perhaps she has other reasons for playing here. Her songbook bulges with references to her desire for – and struggles with – religion. If lines such as “I don’t believe in everlasting love” gently rebuke Christian teachings, the electric, brooding The Beast – which sees her cry “tonight he lies with me” under startling red light – is positively satanic.The Guardian

Bookmark and Share
This entry was posted in Album_Info. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Live From York Minster

    180g Double LP, Gatefold Sleeve
    15th August 2012

    Side A
    1. I Was Just A Card
    2. The Muse
    3. Ghosts
    4. Don’t Ask Me Why

    Side B
    5. Salinas
    6. The Beast
    7. Goodbye England (Covered In Snow)

    Side C
    8. Blues Run The Game
    9. Night Terror
    10. Flicker And Fail
    11. Alpha Shallows
    12. What He Wrote

    Side D
    13. My Friends
    14. Sophia
    15. Rambling Man
    16. All My Rage